This page contains the following sectors: introduction to ASPAC documents and contact.

Introduction to ASPAC

Membership of the Australian Suicide Prevention Advisory Council (ASPAC) was announced in September 2008 by the Minister for Health and Ageing - the Hon Nicola Roxon MP (read the press release here).

ASPAC provides confidential advice to the Australian Government through the Minister for Health and Ageing on strategic directions and priorities in relation to the prevention of suicide and self-harm in order to support the Australian Government’s implementation of the National Suicide Prevention Program (NSPP).

The Council provides a forum for expert service providers, researchers and clinicians to share expertise and to identify community needs and priorities for the NSPP that would be informed by the best available evidence.

ASPAC is chaired by Professor Ian Webster AO, Emeritus Professor of Public Health and Community Medicine at the University of New South Wales. For a current list of ASPAC members, including their bios and photographs, visit this page.


ASPAC communiqués can be viewed or downloaded here.

The National Suicide Prevention Strategy Action Framework 2009-10 to 2010-11 can be viewed or downloaded here.

The ASPAC discussion paper on the development of an Indigenous Suicide Prevention Strategy can be viewed or downloaded here.


To contact ASPAC please email the ASPAC Secretariat.